C1: Call For Papers

ICCE Conference on Artificial Intelligence in Education/Intelligent Tutoring System(AIED/ITS) and Adaptive Learning

Nara, Japan


November 30-December 4 (Sunday-Thursday), 2014

Organized by the Asia-Pacific Society for Computers in Education


Hosted by

Japanese Society for Information and Systems in Education,
Japan Society for Educational Technology, and
Japanese Association for Education of Information Studies

In response to emerging research diversity, ICCE2014 will be a meta-conference, comprising of seven co-located theme-based conferences. This is the Call for Papers for the theme-based conference, C1: ICCE Conference on AIED/ITS & Adaptive Learning.

All the accepted papers will be published in proceedings which will be indexed by Elsevier Bibliographic Databases (e.g., Scopus, Engineering Village and others). Authors of accepted distinguished full papers will be invited to submit extended versions of the papers for consideration of publication Research and Practice in Technology Enhanced Learning (RPTEL), the official academic journal of the Asia Pacific Society for Computers in Education.

The C1 ICCE Conference on AIED/ITS & Adaptive Learning focuses on research and development of interactive and adaptive learning environments for learners of all ages, across all domains. The conference provides opportunities for the cross-fertilization of knowledge and ideas from researchers in many fields including artificial intelligence, computer science, cognitive science, education, learning sciences, educational technology, psychology, philosophy, sociology, anthropology, and linguistics. It also includes research from many domain-specific areas for which AIED/ITS systems have been designed such as ITS for ill-defined domains. C1 is being actively planned; below we give a summary of important information to date.

Possible topics that could be addressed that are not limited to:

  • Affective Modeling
  • Agent technology
  • AIED Architectures (distributed, agent-based, web-based)
  • Authoring systems for AIED/ITS
  • Cognitive engineering
  • Data mining for learning
  • Distributed systems
  • Instructional planning
  • Intelligent systems architecture and ontology-aware systems
  • Interaction design and novel interfaces
  • Intelligent pedagogical agents and learning companions
  • Knowledge modeling and representation
  • Natural language and dialogues in AIED
  • Ontology and metadata
  • Semantic Web services and Service-Oriented Architecture
  • Semantic Web technology
  • Supporting meta-cognitive skills in AIED systems
  • Tutoring strategies
  • Web intelligence
  • Virtual and Augmented Reality in AIED
  • Learning analytics
  • Linked open data for learning

We welcome contributions that report both on accomplished research and work in progress. Due to the nature of the conference with its focus on innovative ideas and on future developments, papers of a conceptual nature are strongly encouraged.

Paper categories (Note the revised page limits):

  • Full paper (8-10 pages)
  • Short paper (5-6 pages)
  • Poster paper (2-3 pages)

The paper template is available on PAPER TEMPLATE. For past authors of ICCE, please note that the template has been substantially revised. Do download the latest version of the template in preparing your manuscript.

All the accepted full papers are eligible for the competitions of:

  • Best Overall Paper Award
  • Best Student Paper Award (restricted to papers whose first authors are graduate or undergraduate students)
  • Best Technical Design Paper Award

In addition, all the accepted poster papers are eligible for the competition of Best Poster Design Award(s).

Please visit this URL for the award rules and criteria.

Important dates (Main Conference):

Paper Submission Due: May 12, 2014 May 26, 2014 (Extended!)
Notification of Acceptance: August 4, 2014

Paper Submission System (PSS):

Please click HERE for submission.

Program Co-chairs:

Yusuke HAYASHI, Hiroshima University, Japan (executive program chair)
Amali WEERASINGHE, The University of Adelaide, Australia
Julita VASSILEVA, University of Saskatchewan, Canada
Barbara WASSON, University of Bergen, Norway

Program Committee:

Dietrich ALBERT, Graz University of Technology, Austria
Sagaya AMALATHAS, University of Canterbury, New Zealand
Roger AZEVEDO, McGill University, Canada
Nilufar BAGHAEI, Unitec, New Zealand
Gautam BISWAS, Vanderbilt University, USA
Susan BULL, University of Birmingham, UK
Marut BURANARACH, National Electronics and Computer Technology Center, Thailand
Chih-Yueh CHOU, Yuen Ze Universitym, Taiwan
Ben DU BOULAY, University of Sussex, UK
Claude FRASSON, University of Montreal, Canada
Enrique FRIAS-MARTINEZ, Telefonica Investigacion y Desarrollo, Spain
George GHINEA, Brunel University, UK
Eduardo GUZMÁN, University of Malaga, Spain
Shinobu HASEGAWA, Japan Advanced Institute of Science and Technology, Japan
Tsukasa HIRASHIMA, Hiroshima University, Japan
Ulrich HOPPE, University of Duisburg-Essen, Germany
Tomoya HORIGUCHI, Kobe University, Japan
Seiji ISOTANI, University of Sao Paulo, Brazil
Sridhar IYER, Indian Institute of Technology Mumbai, India
Akihiro KASHIHARA, Electro-Communication University, Japan
Kazuaki KOJIMA, Teikyo University, Japan
Tomoko KOJIRI, Kansai University, Japan
Siu Cheung KONG, The Hong Kong Institute of Education, Hong Kong
Tatsuhiro KONISHI, Shizuoka University, Japan
Hidenobu KUNICHIKA, Kyushu Institute of Technology, Japan
Chad LANE, University of South California, USA
Lydia LAU, University of Leeds, UK
Nguyen-Thinh LE, Clausthal University of Technology, Germany
Krittaya LEELAWONG, Mahidol University International College, Thailand
Chi-Jen LIN, Fo Guang University, Taiwan
Moffat MATHEWS, University of Canterbury, New Zealand
Yukihiro MATSUBARA, Hiroshima City University, Japan
Noboru MATSUDA, Carnegie Mellon University, USA
Noriyuki MATSUDA, Wakayama University, Japan
Tatsunori MATSUI, Waseda University, Japan
Gordon McCALLA, University of Saskatcehwan, Canada
Tanya MITROVIC, University of Canterbury, New Zealand
Kazuhisa MIWA, Nagoya University, Japan
Riichiro MIZOGUCHI, Japan Advanced Institute of Science and Technology, Japan
Norwati MUSTAPHA, Universiti Putra Malaysia, Malaysia
Jitti NIRAMITRANON, Kasetsart University, Thailand
Athitaya NITCHOT, National Electronics and Computer Technology Center, Thailand
Helen PAIN, University of Edinburgh, UK
Jose Luis PEREZ DE LA CRUZ, Universidad de Malaga, Spain
Elvira POPESCU, University of Craiova, Romania
Mercedes RODRIGO, Ateneo de Manila University, Philippines
Kazuhisa SETA, Osaka Prefecture University, Japan
Pokpong SONGMUANG, Thammasat University, Thailand
Sergey SOSNOVSKY, DFKI, Germany
Thepchai SUPNITHI, National Electronics and Computer Technology Center, Thailand
Monica TRELLA, Universidad de Malaga, Spain
Diego ZAPATA-RIVERA, Educational Testing Service, USA